Awards to electricians who keep the economy running

Electricians and electrical technicians are vital to the running of a complex, modern digital economy, and next week Scotland's electrical trade will gather to celebrate all that is best in a highly professional and strictly regulated sector. SELECT, the electrotechnical campaigning trade body, has once again organised a major awards event to recognise and reward the resilience, professionalism and technical excellence of the people working in the industry.

It has now unveiled the nominees who will compete against each other in a wide range of award categories at a glittering ceremony to be held at the Radisson Blu in the centre of Glasgow on Friday October 9. As ever, the competition for the 2015 awards has been intense as firms and individuals who have survived and thrived during the tough years of the recession reap the rewards of the diversity and robustness of Scotland's electrical sector.

Image removed.From Peterhead and Inverurie in the north to Innerleithen in the south, companies ranging from major employers to small family firms have taken up the challenge of competing against their peers for the top honours. And, once again, the Apprentice of the Year category will showcase the brightest and best of the talented youngsters who will take the sector towards the challenges of tomorrow.

Newell McGuiness, SELECT managing director, said: "The sector is back in good health after some tough years and continuing with its mission to provide customers with a first class, professional service. "The electrical trade is a dynamic working environment, with innovation and exciting new products brining new challenges every day for the dedicated people who install and maintain them safely and efficiently. "Electricians are dedicated, hard-working people and it is our honour to turn the spotlight on them and remind the rest of the world of how important they are to our continued economic success." This year's nominees are: SJIB/Edmundson Apprentice of the Year

  • James Wotherspoon – E M MacKenzie
  • Josh Graham – Balfour Beatty Engineering Services
  • Ryan McShane – Arthur McKay & Co Ltd

Best New Product

  • AICO -  AudioLINK
  • Scolmore - iNELS RF Touch Central Programmer
  • Eaton Electric - Memera Full Metal Consumer Unit.

Best Delivery of Customer Service

  • Campbell &Kennedy Ltd (Clydebank)
  • RAS Crockett, & Partners (Dundee)
  • EWF Electrical Services Ltd (Inverurie)
  • Scotlight Electrical (Innerleithen)

Best Use of Training

  • Campbell &Kennedy Ltd (Clydebank),
  • RAS Crockett, & Partners (Dundee),
  • EWF Electrical Services Ltd (Inverurie)
  • Scotlight Electrical (Innerleithen)

Best Environmental Project

  • Campbell & Kennedy Ltd (Clydebank)
  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • D R Electrical Highland Ltd (Invergordon)

Best Electrical Safety Project

  • T Clarke (Scotland) Ltd (Falkirk)
  • Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)
  • Fife Council (Glenrothes)

Best Promotion of Certification

  • AKD Systems Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • RW Bell (Electrical) Pitlochry Ltd (Pitlochry)
  • CableCom Electrical Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • MSM Electrical Services Ltd (Peterhead)

Best Small Contractor

  • EWF Electrical Services Ltd (Inverurie)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)
  • Interlink Lighting (Glasgow)


The Electrical Contractor of the Year will be chosen from these categories and a special Lifetime Achievement award for services to the trade will be made on the night of the ceremony. For more information please contact David Wright, Head of External Affairs at SELECT, tel. 0131 445 5577. E: W:


Add new comment